30 Good Things Before 30: #30 – You!

It’s official, folks. I’m now a 30-something!

I celebrated my 30th birthday today by sticking to my marathon training plan. I’m that dedicated (or obsessed… whatever).

It really wasn’t much of a sacrifice though. I could hardly wait to hit the pavement for my regular Tuesday 6 km tempo run thanks to my brand-new Garmin Forerunner 225!

Got the gear!

Got the gear!

My Garmin was a gift from my famjam for my milestone birthday (thank you!!!) and it is amazing!

It’s my first Garmin so it took me a little while (read: several hours) to figure out the features and get it synced up with my computer and phone. Once I finally did, it worked like a dream on my first test run, guiding me through my warm-up, tempo miles and cool-down seamlessly. On top of that, the wrist-based heart rate monitor is unbelievable.30-good-things-before-30

I plan on writing a full review once I get a few more miles on this baby, so stay tuned.

For now, though, let me finish out my little 30-day challenge, with a nod to #30 on my list of 30 Good Things Before 30:


You!

That’s right: you (yes, you!) are #30!

Whether it’s your first visit here or you’ve been with me for the long haul, it’s you out there on your laptops and smartphones, dropping in to read what I have to say that gives this all purpose.

I started this blog in 2010 and failed miserably at posting regularly. Looking back, I think a big part of the problem was that I was utterly self-absorbed. (A self-absorbed blogger? Shocking, I know!)

Since relaunching this year, though, I’ve made an effort to get to know more of you out there in the blogosphere and in Twitter-land and found such an amazing community that I’m so pumped to be part of.

My tweeps! (Find me on Twitter here)

My tweeps! (Find me on Twitter here)

If I have a training question, you have answers. If I’m frustrated, you’re supportive. If I need a killer recipe to use up those sweet potatoes I have on hand, you’ve got me covered.

Let’s be honest: if it wasn’t for your views, likes, and comments, I would have given up on this 30 days of consecutive blogging thing a long time ago! But my drive to stay engaged, to keep sharing and learning more about you, outweighed my desire to binge-watch OITNB or get to bed at a decent hour.

It feels good to belong to this community. Thanks for allowing me to be part of it! 🙂

What’s your favourite thing about blogging?

Any fav blogs you think I should be following? 

20 thoughts on “30 Good Things Before 30: #30 – You!

  1. allisonfiorini says:

    I said it before, but Happy Birthday! I started my blog almost two years ago and also didn’t have any success until more recently. It’s so much fun to read what everyone else is up to, especially since most people I follow have the same interests as me! Love it!! Enjoy your day!

    • mostlyhealthyliving says:

      Thanks again! It was a great day and today hasn’t been too bad either! Nice to finally take a day off after 30 consecutive days of blogging but really looking forward to catching up on what everyone else has been up to! 🙂

  2. Bubbles and Booyah says:

    Happy, happy birthday!! Sending you so much love. I absolutely love reading your blog and I’m so happy to be a part of your blogging community. Also, my b-day is the 12th so we are totally Cancer soul sisters hey girl heyyyy 🙂 🙂 🙂 Looking forward to all the great stuff to come! ❤ ❤ ❤ xo L

  3. kiwiyogirunner says:

    Congrats on your birthday!!!!! Wooh! I only started my blog at the beginning of the year and my fave part is definitely the amazing connection with other bloggers- commenting on people’s blogs and communicating like that is a pretty amazing way to make friends with the same obsessions! 🙂

    • mostlyhealthyliving says:

      Thanks! So true about making friends with the same obsessions on here and thank goodness for that! Don’t know if my non-running friends could put up with me if I didn’t have this as an outlet for my running-related geeking-out! 😉

Leave a Reply

