30 Good Things Before 30: #29 – This quote

Today is the last day of my 20’s.

That struck me last night as I was lying in bed. And I’m not gonna lie: it freaked me out.

It’s a silly reaction to have. Totally pointless, actually.

Today, I am simply one day older than I was yesterday. The same as every single day of my life so far. Nothing new. Nothing to fret over. Logically, I can step back and see that.

Nonetheless, it’s still freaking me out.

That’s nothing new, really. This fear of growing older nonsense has been a longtime companion of mine. Facebook even reminded me this morning that on this day eight years ago, I wrote that I was “unwilling to turn 22. No more birthdays. …holding at 21.”

From the mouths of babes, am I right?

Since then, the clock has kept ticking, the world has kept 30-good-things-before-30spinning and now here I am on the cusp of a new decade. No use fretting over it. Might as well embrace it.

#29 on my list of 30 Good Things Before 30 helps me keep it in perspective:


This quote

I came across this quote sometime around my birthday several years ago and, even then, it resonated with me. Then my birthday passed and with it, my awareness of the sentiment.

It snuck its way back into my consciousness when a Facebook friend recently posted it and I thought: “Yep. That’s exactly what I needed to hear.”

So I’m sharing it here, in case it’s exactly what you need to hear.

"Do not regret growing older. It is a privilege denied to many." - Author unknown (Pin this)

“Do not regret growing older. It is a privilege denied to many.” – Author unknown (Pin this)

Nothing flowery. Nothing complicated. Just a reminder that growing older is a gift not everyone receives. And the least we, the lucky few, can do is embrace it!

How do you feel about your birthday?

Do you have any quotes, birthday-related or not, that you live by?

3 thoughts on “30 Good Things Before 30: #29 – This quote

  1. allisonfiorini says:

    I’m telling you, sister – 30s are where it’s at! I’m 32 and I love it. Way more fun than 20s so far!! If you are reading this and it’s your birthday…HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Leave a Reply

